Musings of a hypercondriac #2

Okay, so this isn’t really a broken bone, more like a muscle problem.

Around the end of 2011, I got those dreadful jail-like accesories called braces. It was all going well, nice straight teeth until I reached the 6 month milestone. I started to get excruciating pain in my ear/jaw/tooth.

I went to the doctor and he told me I had an ear infection, so i went through with my daily livelihood but the pain just wasn’t going away. So a month later, pain and all, I went to camp. It was a good bonding camp for the grade but, I was only there for the first day since my “ear infection” was too painful to handle.

The next day, we took a journey to another doctor to see what the problem was and he told me to see and ENT. My mom called bullsh*t and off we went to another doctor. This time, we got told that it wasn’t actually my ear. It was my jaw. From them bloody braces.

He told me that I have a thing called TMJD (Temporomandibular joint dysfunction, google it). At that moment, the heavens opened and light was shone with little baby cherubs singing in the background.

Unfortunately, nothing can be done about this since it is a relatively under researched field. So he simply told me that I have to go to physio and just bare it.

I eventually got my braces off but the orthodontist wasn’t happy that it was perfect but apparently it was perfection or a jaw operation. (That rhymes… kind of)

After hectic stress of the end of year exams and other drama, I developed Cervicogenic Headaches as a side effect to the strain my neck and jaw was put under. These headaches also cause migraines and they were also like the sister of the migraine which weren’t the best during exams.

We went to the doctor for the headaches and he prescribed me some muscle relaxants and painkillers. I still take the muscle relaxants as well as go to physio but hopefully it’s getting better.

When there’s perpetual pain, go see a doctor my dear daisies,                                                   (Don’t be a hypochondriac though…)

Jess xxskull_large

Leave a Reply

